2014 NC Club Teams info & entry form

The Penwell Trophy Photo by Jim McGill

July 24–27, Linville


The 19th annual North Carolina Club Teams Championship will be held on several courts in the Linville area. Play will begin the morning of Thursday, July 24, to conclude by mid-afternoon on Sunday, July 27. Play is doubles only, in four or more flights. Entry will be limited to 48 doubles pairs (first come, first served).


There is no residency requirement. Each entry must be a doubles pair, with both players current members of the same NC croquet club and of the USCA. Flight assignments will be based on the average handicap of the two players. (Exception: an entry with a handicap difference of 4 or more will play in the flight appropriate for the lower handicap player, as determined by the Tournament Director.)


Each entry will represent their NC croquet club in the Penwell Trophy competition. Points are awarded to each entry that finishes 4th place or higher within a flight. The club with the most points is the winner and will have their name inscribed on the trophy. Also, individual trophies will be awarded in each flight. Each entry will be scheduled to play a minimum of six games (up to three games on any one day of the tournament). However, games may be canceled if necessary as a result of weather delays or drop-outs.

The tournament fees include lunch and soft drinks each day, a tournament dinner, and a finals brunch.

Entry form

Download entry form—PDF file, 24kB

Travel information

The Avery County website lists a broad range of lodging and dining venues. There are also rental properties available at Grandfather Golf & Country Club and at Linville Ridge Country Club. Farther afield, there is plenty of lodging in Boone.

This is a popular resort area. Book your lodging early.


Linville is in Avery County, at the junction of highways 105, 181 and 221 (about 18 miles SW of Boone). The Eseeola Croquet Club is directly across from the Eseeola Lodge, just south of the traffic light. The other tournament sites, Grandfather and Linville Ridge country clubs, are about two miles north on Hwy 105.

Past champions

Year Club Team Individual
1996 Pinehurst Croquet Club Buzz Lee and Bob Yount (Black Mountain)
1997 Pinehurst Croquet Club Wayne Synan and Stu Jones* (Black Mountain)
1998 Croquet Club of Etowah Valley Mack Penwell and Jeff Soo (Stoneridge)
1999 Eseeola Croquet Club Ed Roberts and Hugh Barger (Davidson)
2000 Pinehurst Croquet Club Harold Allison and Daley Craig (Black Mountain)
2001 Bald Head Island Croquet Club David and Kyle Maloof (Eseeola)
2002 Bald Head Island Croquet Club Bill and Billie Jean Berne (Bald Head)
2003 Meadows Mallet Club Roy Gee and Danny Huneycutt (Meadows)
2004 Meadows Mallet Club Bob Cherry and Mack Penwell (Pinehurst)
2005 Meadows Mallet Club Bill and Billie Jean Berne (Bald Head)
2006 Meadows Mallet Club David Maloof and Bill Denton (High Country)
2007 Meadows Mallet Club Andy Short and Frank Thompson (Stoneridge)
2008 Meadows Mallet Club Andy Short and Eileen Soo (Stoneridge)
2009 Meadows Mallet Club Ed Roberts and Jon Essick (Meadows)
2010 Meadows Mallet Club Steve Summer and Rick Wilhoite (Meadows)
2011 High Country Steve Johnston and David Maloof (High Country)
2012 Meadows Danny Huneycutt & Tom Yates (Meadows)
2013 Pinehurst Danny Huneycutt & Tom Yates (Meadows)
* handicap play