2015 NC Open info & entry form

April 21–24 Bald Head Island, NC, USA

Please note that the event is Tuesday through Friday

Current entry list


The NC Open is an Association Croquet (i.e., “International Rules”) singles tournament, sanctioned by the USCA. It will be held on four lawns at the Bald Head Island Club. Dawson balls will be used.

Entry is open to all players who are current members in good standing of a WCF-affiliated croquet association (such as the USCA, Croq-Can, or the British CA).

The entry fee is US$225 per player. This includes all court fees, USCA sanction fee, daily lunch, and two dinners. Non-playing guests may attend all meals for US$100, or dinners only for US$70.

This is a popular tournament. The earlier you enter, the better your chance of getting in. The current entry list will be updated regularly.

Some BHI club members have offered to provide housing for visiting players. Please contact Jeff Soo for information.

Jeff Soo will be the Tournament Director.

Details: First Flight

Available for players with a World Ranking Grade below 1700 and/or USCA handicap above 2. Entry is first-come, first-served, for up to 8 players.

Games will be 26-point advanced play with time limits. Format TBD.

Details: Championship Flight

Room for 16 players. Through March 20th, entries (other than automatic qualifications) will be allocated by ranking. After March 20th any open spots will be allocated by entry date, to players who meet the minimum requirements (world ranking grade of 1600 or higher, or USCA handicap of 3.5 or lower). The waiting list will work the same way: through March 20th the waiting list will be ordered by ranking; after that the existing order will be fixed and new entries will be added to the bottom by date.

Advanced play with no time limits. Format will depend on entry size, but will probably begin with a block or Swiss phase leading to a knockout. The Plate (consolation event) will be in the Flexible Swiss or Egyptian format. The format (including time limits) is subject to change without notice.

About entry ranking order:

The primary determinant will be World Ranking grade, using the most recent available data. Players without a current World Ranking will be assigned a provisional grade according to the judgment of the tournament committee.

Automatic qualifications (must be claimed by March 20th):
Brian Cumming 2014 NC Open winner
Stuart Lawrence 2014 NC Open finalist
Matthew Essick 2014 NC Open semi-finalist
Doug Grimsley 2014 NC Open semi-finalist
Paul Bennett 2014 National doubles winner
Sherif Abdelwahab 2014 National doubles winner
Jeff Soo 2014 National singles and Selection 8s winner

Entry forms

Download entry form—PDF file, 30kB


The format and conditions for any flight are subject to change without notice.

Past Champions

1994 Mack Penwell
1995 Paul Scott
1996 Bill Berne
1997 Mack Penwell
1998 Mack Penwell
1999 Leo McBride
2000 Jeff Soo
2001 Jeff Soo
2002 Wynand Louw
2003 Kenster Rosenberry
2004 Wynand Louw
2005 Bob Cherry
2006 Paul Scott
2007 Danny Huneycutt
2008 Brian Cumming
2009 [was not played]
2010 Ben Rothman
2011 Danny Huneycutt
2012 Brian Cumming
2013 Brian Cumming
2014 Brian Cumming