2017 NC Open info & entry form

Brian Cumming lines up a pegout in game 1 of the 2014 NC Open final while opponent Stuart Lawrence looks on. Photo by Jeff Soo

March 25–28
Pinehurst, NC, USA

Current entry list


Association Croquet singles at the Pinehurst Resort & Country Club. Entry is open to all players who are current members in good standing of a WCF-affiliated croquet association (such as the USCA, Croq-Can, or the British CA).

The entry fee is US$225 per player. This includes USCA sanction fee, an opening reception, and daily lunches. The fee for non-playing guests is US$65.

Jeff Soo will be the Tournament Director.

Details: First Flight

Available for players with a World Ranking Grade below 1700 and/or USCA handicap above 2. Entry is first-come, first-served, for up to 8 players. If fewer than 6 entries are received the flight will be canceled.

Games will be 26-point advanced play with time limits. Format TBD.

Details: Championship Flight

Room for 16 players minimum (up to 24 depending on First Flight entry). Through February 15th, entries (other than automatic qualifications) will be allocated by ranking. After February 15th any open spots will be allocated by entry date, to players who meet the minimum requirements (world ranking grade of 1600 or higher, or USCA handicap of 3.5 or lower). The waiting list will work the same way: through February 15th the waiting list will be ordered by ranking; after that the existing order will be fixed and new entries will be added to the bottom by date.

Advanced play with no time limits. Super-advanced play is allowed if both players in the match agree. Format will depend on entry size, but will probably begin with a block or Swiss phase leading to a knockout. The Plate (consolation event) will be in the Flexible Swiss or Egyptian format. The format (including time limits) is subject to change without notice.

About entry ranking order:

The primary determinant will be World Ranking grade, using the most recent available data. Players without a current World Ranking will be assigned a provisional grade according to the judgment of the tournament committee.

Automatic qualifications (must be claimed by February 15th):
Danny Huneycutt 2016 NC Open winner
Brian Cumming 2016 NC Open finalist and Eights winner
Jeff Soo 2016 NC Open semi-finalist
Stuart Lawrence 2016 NC Open semi-finalist
Simon Jenkins 2016 NC Open Plate winner
David Maloof 2016 National singles, doubles, and Eights winner
Jim Bast 2016 National doubles winner

Entry forms

Download entry form—PDF file, 30kB


The format and conditions for any flight are subject to change without notice.

Past Champions

1994 Mack Penwell
1995 Paul Scott
1996 Bill Berne
1997 Mack Penwell
1998 Mack Penwell
1999 Leo McBride
2000 Jeff Soo
2001 Jeff Soo
2002 Wynand Louw
2003 Kenster Rosenberry
2004 Wynand Louw
2005 Bob Cherry
2006 Paul Scott
2007 Danny Huneycutt
2008 Brian Cumming
2009 [was not played]
2010 Ben Rothman
2011 Danny Huneycutt
2012 Brian Cumming
2013 Brian Cumming
2014 Brian Cumming
2015 Mike Todorovich
2016 Danny Huneycutt

Last modified on 4 March 2017