2021 NC Club Teams info & entry form

The Penwell Trophy Photo by Jim McGill

July 22–25, Linville

Current entry list

Update, 5/29/2021

Players wishing to enter are strongly encouraged to contact their respective Team Captains first. The co-Captains for the Western NC team are Michael Albert and David Maloof. The Team co-Captains for Eastern NC are Mike Taylor and Elaine Moody.


The North Carolina Club Teams Championship will again feature dual events in Golf Croquet (GC) and American Six-Wicket Croquet (6W); players may enter either or both events. New this year, the tournament is a competition between Eastern and Western NC. The tournament will be held on several courts in the Linville area. Play will begin the morning of Thursday, July 22, to conclude by mid-afternoon on Sunday, July 25. Play is doubles only, in three or more flights.

Eligibility and entry allocation

You must be a current member of the USCA, and must either be a member of a USCA-registered club in NC, or an At-Large USCA member residing in NC. If possible, enter with a partner (if you enter both events, this can be a different partner for each); otherwise we will attempt to match unpaired players.

Space is limited to 30 entries (i.e., 60 players) in each event. The teams (Eastern and Western) are initially allocated a maximum of 15 entries per event. The expected format is GC in the morning, 6W in the afternoon; players can expect 2 games per day during block play in each event. Hence, a player entered in both events must be ready to play up to 4 games per day.

So, for example, a team could use its allocation to enter 15 pairs, each playing in both events. Or 30 pairs (60 players), with half playing GC and half playing 6W. Or something in between, e.g. 10 pairs playing both events, plus 5 pairs playing GC only and another 5 pairs playing 6W only. If a team exceeds this allocation, extra entries will be placed on a waiting list.

If, as of June 23rd July 1 (the “allocation date”), there is space remaining, entry will be first-come, first-served, up to the final entry deadline of July 7.

Flight assignments will be based on the average handicap/ranking of the two players. (Exception: an entry with a large handicap difference will play in the flight appropriate for the lower handicap player, as determined by the Tournament Director.) Unranked players will be assigned flights by the Tournament Director.


The main event, the competition for the Penwell Trophy, is a team competition between Eastern and Western NC. Points are awarded to each entry that finishes 4th place or higher within a flight. The team with the most points is the winner and will have their name inscribed on the trophy. The winning team will also receive a plaque (no other trophies will be awarded).

The tournament fees include morning coffee and lunch each day, including the Finals Brunch, and the Tournament Dinner.

Pre-tournament practice will be at Linville Ridge only, Wednesday July 21, from 4:00 to 6:00.

Entry form

Download entry form—PDF file, 39 kB

Travel information

The Avery County website lists a broad range of lodging and dining venues. There are also rental properties available at Grandfather Golf & Country Club and at Linville Ridge Country Club. Farther afield, there is plenty of lodging in Boone.

This is a popular resort area. Book your lodging early.


Linville is in Avery County, at the junction of highways 105, 181 and 221 (about 18 miles SW of Boone). The Eseeola Croquet Club is directly across from the Eseeola Lodge, just south of the traffic light. The other tournament sites, Grandfather and Linville Ridge country clubs, are about two miles north on Hwy 105.

Past champions

Year Club Team Individual
1996 Pinehurst Croquet Club Buzz Lee and Bob Yount (Black Mountain)
1997 Pinehurst Croquet Club Wayne Synan and Stu Jones* (Black Mountain)
1998 Croquet Club of Etowah Valley Mack Penwell and Jeff Soo (Stoneridge)
1999 Eseeola Croquet Club Ed Roberts and Hugh Barger (Davidson)
2000 Pinehurst Croquet Club Harold Allison and Daley Craig (Black Mountain)
2001 Bald Head Island Croquet Club David and Kyle Maloof (Eseeola)
2002 Bald Head Island Croquet Club Bill and Billie Jean Berne (Bald Head)
2003 Meadows Mallet Club Roy Gee and Danny Huneycutt (Meadows)
2004 Meadows Mallet Club Bob Cherry and Mack Penwell (Pinehurst)
2005 Meadows Mallet Club Bill and Billie Jean Berne (Bald Head)
2006 Meadows Mallet Club David Maloof and Bill Denton (High Country)
2007 Meadows Mallet Club Andy Short and Frank Thompson (Stoneridge)
2008 Meadows Mallet Club Andy Short and Eileen Soo (Stoneridge)
2009 Meadows Mallet Club Ed Roberts and Jon Essick (Meadows)
2010 Meadows Mallet Club Steve Summer and Rick Wilhoite (Meadows)
2011 High Country Steve Johnston and David Maloof (High Country)
2012 Meadows Danny Huneycutt & Tom Yates (Meadows)
2013 Pinehurst Danny Huneycutt & Tom Yates (Meadows)
2014 Meadows Jeff Soo & Bob Roth (Stoneridge)
2017 Western Mountains (GC); High Country (6W & overall) Steve Summer & Rick Wilhoite (Meadows—GC); David Maloof & John Taylor (High Country—6W)
2018 High Country Simon Jenkins & Matthew Essick (Meadows—6W); Gene Raymond & Chris Barley (High Country—GC)
2019 High Country Mike Taylor & Elaine Moody (Pinehurst—GC); Chris Barley & Gene Raymond (High Country—6W)
* handicap play

Last modified on 30 May 2021