2023 NC AC Open info & entry form

Art of the in-off: Matthew Essick at 2021 NC Club Teams Photo by Jeff Soo

June 8–11
Albemarle Croquet Club
Belvidere, NC, USA

Current entry list


Association Croquet singles at the newly-expanded Albemarle Croquet Club in northeastern North Carolina. Entry is open to all players who are current members in good standing of a WCF-affiliated croquet association (such as the USCA, Croq-Can, or the British CA).

The entry fee is US$185 per player. This includes daily lunches, snacks, and beverages, the Tournament Dinner.

Danny Huneycutt will be the Tournament Director. Adam Lassiter will be the Tournament Manager.

Details: First Flight

Available for players with a World Ranking Grade below 1700 and/or USCA handicap above 2. Entry is first-come, first-served, for up to 8 players. Depending on Championship Flight entry, the flight will be limited to 8 players.

Games will be 26-point advanced play with time limits. Format TBD.

Details: Championship Flight

Room for 16 players minimum (up to 24 depending on First Flight entry). Through April 5th, entries (other than automatic qualifications) will be allocated by ranking. After April 5th any open spots will be allocated by entry date, to players who meet the minimum requirements (world ranking grade of 1600 or higher, or USCA handicap of 3.5 or lower). The waiting list will work the same way: through April 5th the waiting list will be ordered by ranking; after that the existing order will be fixed and new entries will be added to the bottom by date.

Advanced play with no time limits. Super-advanced play is allowed if both players in the match agree. Format will depend on entry size, but will probably begin with a block or Swiss phase leading to a knockout. The Plate (consolation event) will be in the Flexible Swiss or Egyptian format. The format (including time limits) is subject to change without notice.

There will be $185 prizes for the winners of Championship and First flights, $100 prizes for the Cham- pionship and First Flight runners-up (and for the Second Flight winner, if applicable).

About entry ranking order:

The primary determinant will be World Ranking grade, using the most recent available data. Players without a current World Ranking will be assigned a provisional grade according to the judgment of the tournament committee.

Automatic qualifications (must be claimed by April 5th):
Sherif Abdelwahab 2022 NC Open winner and national doubles champion
Stephen Morgan 2022 NC Open finalist and national doubles champion
Matthew Essick 2022 NC Open semi-finalist, national singles champion, Selection Eights winner
Tom Balding 2022 NC Open semi-finalist
Brian Cumming 2022 NC Open plate winner

Entry forms

Download entry form—PDF file, 34 kB


The format and conditions for any flight are subject to change without notice.

Past Champions

1994 Mack Penwell
1995 Paul Scott
1996 Bill Berne
1997 Mack Penwell
1998 Mack Penwell
1999 Leo McBride
2000 Jeff Soo
2001 Jeff Soo
2002 Wynand Louw
2003 Kenster Rosenberry
2004 Wynand Louw
2005 Bob Cherry
2006 Paul Scott
2007 Danny Huneycutt
2008 Brian Cumming
2009 [was not played]
2010 Ben Rothman
2011 Danny Huneycutt
2012 Brian Cumming
2013 Brian Cumming
2014 Brian Cumming
2015 Mike Todorovich
2016 Danny Huneycutt
2017 Stuart Lawrence
2018 Danny Huneycutt
2019 Danny Huneycutt
2020 Tom Balding
2021 Matthew Essick
2022 Sherif Abdelwahab

Last modified on 9 March 2023